Grounded

Good morning,

As a lifestyle transition coach I am concious of change all around us every day.

Change is scary.

What will happen next?  

Where will I go?

When will I make these changes?

How long will it take? 

Why is this happening to me?

All questions with many possible answers and all still unanswered.  I know.  I just moved.  Office and home in 5 days flat.  Lots of running up and down stairs.  Many skipped meals, forgotten in the busyiness of moving.  All done quickly and as efficiently as possible.  I knew the move was coming so was prepared for the changes but I still had to over come resistance to change.

When we resist change, we dread the transition, rather than enjoying the opportunity for growth.  This, I think, Is the key.  Nonresistence.  Change is our birthright.  It ensures we are constantly growing and evolving.  Even something as simple as a move one town away creates the opportunity to embrace the changes and develop our adventurous side or resist and allow the bitterness of victim mindset to awaken.

The question is how do we stay grounded during this transitional time?  We need some simple self care practices that we can count on every day.  Meditation, yoga … even 15 minutes, salt water bath, a walk … something that get your head and body back together can keep you grounded in the midst of chaos.  Since my new move I have walked almost every day and although I am taking time out of my day this focus on my own health has also inspired creativity and motivation in my work.  I am surprised and happy with how much joy this walk outside produces.  You see things differently afoot than you do in your normal mode … I am inspired by this new perspective.

So transitions.  All good.  Hard, yes.  But growth is worth it.  Growth can be hard and nonresistence is a process and discipline we must work on each day.  Buds first then blossoms.

Leave a comment